The 2017 Crop Residents of Plot 26 (updated as necessary)

Evening 🙂

After coming back from the allotment after a hard day digging (at least the sun was shining!) I thought I would do another blog post.

Unlike my previous blog posts, this particular one will be updated from time-to-time as it will be about the progress of the crops I am growing throughout this years growing season.

It will also serve as a bit of a catalogue of what I’m growing and how well my crops are doing (and may perhaps aid in trading crops).  In addition, it will also help me make comparisons between the years.  I have started a seed catalogue but I also needed a way to keep track of what crops (particularly tuberous ones and perennials) that I have ‘stored’ (growing – at least I hope they are when dormant!) at the allotment.

digging

So this post catalogues crops either growing on site, or are waiting to burst into life! It does not include seeds I have unless I have sown them on site (and then remember to update it!).

I will try to add new pictures where possible, but for now the pictures used are from the previous growing seasons.

 

Crop Organisation & Statuses


I will try to group them either based on edible parts, their family, culinary use or any other factor which helps with this posts organisation.

In addition, each crops status will be recorded as follows:

DOR = Dormant (aka: I hope its not dead or waiting to pop its head above the soil surface!)

ACT = Actively Growing (thank goodness its not dead – lets hope for a good harvest!)

DEC = Deceased (aka compost material, we can always try next time, give it plenty of ‘tlc’ before giving up on it, what went wrong?)

 

 

The 2017 Growing Season Crop List

In alphabetical order, the crops currently growing at the allotment for the 2017 growing season are as follows:

 

Fruit Bushes & Trees


  • Red/White/Black Currants
  • Goji Berry
  • Strawberries
  • Gooseberry
  • Grape
  • Peach

BlueberriesGrape vineFig tree

Goji BerryGOOSEBERYYPeach treestrawberry

 

Tubers/Rhizome Producing Crops


  • Jerusalem Artichoke – DOR
  • Yacon – ACT (Greenhouse)
  • Chinese Artichokes – ACT
  • Oca – DOR
  • Mashua – DOR
  • Ulluco – DOR
  • Canna – DOR
  • Day Lillie’s – ACT
  • Japanese Ginger – DOR
  • Cinnamon vine – ACT

japanese-gingerchinese-artichokesoca-growing

ullucojerusalem-artichokesmashuaoca-yacon-ulluco

Cinamon vine
Cinnamon vine – a true yam family member

 

Perennial ‘Vegetables’


  • Globe Artichokes – ACT
  • Rhubarb – ACT
  • Asparagus – DOR
  • Hostas – DOR
Hostas
If the slugs don’t get them I hope to try out this Japanese delicacy!

 

Herbs & Spices


  • Sage – ACT
  • Lemon Balm – DOR
  • Thyme – ACT
  • Banana – DOR
  • Lavender – ACT
  • Liquorice – ACT

Banana Plant

Liquorice
Liquorice

 

Crops Relating To Drinks (e.g. teas)


  • Hop – ACT
Hop plant
Time for a beer after a hard days digging!

 

Total edible crops on site or at indoors at home:

  • March 2017 – 27

 

How many crops are you currently growing?

I hope this list may inspire you also to grow something new and I would love any suggestions you have!

Until next time,

Speak soon!

Samuel 🙂

me-smiling

 

 

 

Leave a comment